Cinemay - Choreographic Cinema - is a video screening series curated by May Zarhy. In dedicated sessions, May presents stage works that haven’t been seen in Israel up to the point of the screening for various reasons: the pieces are no longer being performed, cannot be toured in Israel, are made by artists that reject coming to perform in Israel, or other. The program presents full-length documentation of these selected pieces followed by a video conference with the respective artist/s, in order to meet and dialogue with the person behind the work, rather than remain with the admiration for the video object. Among the goals of the series are to overcome geographic borders, to expose the Israeli audience to artists and types of works, which they are less familiar with and to bring up geo-political problematics. The series allows the audience to get a glimpse of the creative process of the artist, an insight into their doubts, questions and motivations. By getting together as an audience in a shared space in order to watch a projection of a live event, Cinemay wishes to emphasize the invaluable importance of liveness by the very absence of the performing bodies. The selection of presented works is driven by the motivation to momentarily extend the "shelf life" of a performance, to resist the capitalistic obsession with the newest product and to present works that were new only 2, 5, 10, 15 years ago. The screenings are accompanied by a contextual introduction to the screened work and the artist/s.

Season 2017-18 was supported by Kelim Choreographic Center Israel.

Since 2018 the series has been hosted by the Center for Contemporary Art Tel-Aviv-Yafo.

Season 2020

05.01.2020 - Moriah Evans

01.04.2020 - Arkadi Zaides - “Quiet” (2010) (postponed due to Covid-19)

Season 2018/19

03.02.2019 - Youness Atbane

02.03.2019 - Germaine Acogny

17.04.2019 - Ioannis Mandafounis & Fabrice Mazliah

21.05.2019 - Noé Soulier

12.12.2018 - Lucy Guerin "Untrained" (2009)

Season 2017/18 included the following works:

17.12.2017 - Eszter Salamon “Reproduction” (2004)

14.01.2018 - Filiz Sizanli & Mustafa Kaplan “Dokuman” (2009)

18.02.2018 - Maria Campos Arroyo “Time Takes The Time Time Takes” (2015)

15.04.2018 - Martin Schick “Not my piece - postcapitalism for beginners” (2012)

29.04.2018 - Panaibra Canda “Point of Intersection” (2014)